Planted and Rooted

I’m a serial killer.There! I’ve confessed it, it’s out there. I kill plants. Any poor little plant that ends up in my dodgy care is to be pitied. It may as well have been given the death sentence. In fact my aunt gave me a beautiful plant for my 50th birthday, and it’s thriving and beautiful all year round. Why? Because it’s artificial!
The other morning, as I was looking at all my poor, wilting plants on my kitchen window ledge, it made me think of Psalms‬ ‭1:1-3: “Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the wicked, nor stands in the way of sinners, nor sits in the seat of scoffers; but his delight is in the law of the Lord, and on his law he meditates day and night. He is like a tree planted by streams of water that yields its fruit in its season, and its leaf does not wither. In all that he does, he prospers.”
‭‭
Our souls were created to be nourished and satisfied by the richness of God’s Word. When I go without the nourishment of his Truth, my soul is like a plant, put into the wrong soil, or soil that maybe has SOME of right properties but is mixed with stones, weeds, lime, insecticides and other things, that causes that plant to stop growing and wilt.
Not all the plants on my windowsill are wilting. There are one or two that are thriving. But these are the ones that friends have given me as gifts, that came ready planted in good, rich soil, filled with all the right minerals and foods that plants need.
The others are plants that I have tried to grow myself, from the bad soil we have in our garden, which, because of where we live, is filled with a mix of so much other stuff and just a touch of decent soil. Those plants can’t possibly survive in soil like this.
This is what our souls are like, when we don’t feed ourselves properly on the richness of the Truths of God’s Word. When we feed on little bits here and there; a bit of ‘God TV’ (or whatever it’s called) or a few pages of someone’s book, inspirational as that book may be. He invites each of us to come to his banqueting table.
I love Psalm 23:5 “You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; you anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.”
‭‭ We don’t have to feed off the crumbs from someone else’s table! We can be filled and satisfied in the deepest parts of our soul by his Word.
Nothing can fill the hunger in our souls but God’s Word. Nothing can grow us but God’s Word. We will find satisfaction nowhere else but deeply planted and rooted in Him. 💜 And he just says ‘Come’
Jill xx

4 comments

  1. I tell my friends that a purchase of a plant is that Lowe’s death sentence. I visualize the little plant reaching out to the others on the shelf, pleading that someone, anyone, would stop the sale.

    Like

Leave a Reply

