Pour in – Pour out

John‬ ‭7:37-38‬ ‭ESV‬‬
“If anyone thirsts, let him come to me and drink. Whoever believes in me, as the Scripture has said, ‘Out of his heart will flow rivers of living water.”

I don’t know about you, but when I read this verse, I often focus with much gratitude on the first part of it.
For the last two days I have had the simplest little phrase running through my mind, that I believe is God speaking to me, reminding me of something hugely important. The phrase is this: “I pour in, to pour out.”
I knew immediately what The Lord was saying to me, as He first said it to me during a time of spontaneous worship in the early morning prayer meeting at our church. We had been praying for ‘rain’. For an outpouring of the Holy Spirit on our church, our town, country and the wider church.
Picture a glass or jug, being filled under a steady flow of water. Eventually the water will get to the top and begin to overflow. It will spill out over the rim and spread out in a puddle across the surface that the vessel is on, soaking everything around it.
That is how we are meant to be as Followers of Jesus.
Although Jesus calls all who are thirsty to come to Him and drink, we were never meant to just drink; satisfying our own thirst until we are full to the brim.
John‬ ‭4:14‬ ‭NET‬‬
‭‭‭ “But whoever drinks some of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again, but the water that I will give him will become in him a fountain of water springing up to eternal life.”

The picture Jesus describes here isn’t of a little trickling stream, but of an overflowing fountain!
We are to be fountains through which the Holy Spirit can flow and overflow, touching those around us.
We are to live at the source. To be ‘planted’ there, not just pop in now and then for an occasional ‘top up’, and there will be a steady flow of Living Water into our lives and the result will be ‘fruit in season’. Psalm 1:2-3 “but his delight is in the law of the Lord, and on his law he meditates day and night. He is like a tree planted by streams of water that yields its fruit in its season, and its leaf does not wither. In all that he does, he prospers.”
‭‭

Jill McIlreavy💜

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

