A Love Letter from God

Isaiah 43:2-4
When was the last time you received a love letter? In this digital age we don’t really write letters anymore. Somehow, in this modern day of texting, we’ve lost the art of writing beautiful letters and notes to loved ones, expressing our love.
I was feeling a little discouraged this morning. The only thing I could think to pray was; “Lord please come and encourage my heart.”
Then I opened my Bible to find something to read and happened to open it to Isaiah 43, which was the next chapter in my personal reading plan. And there, I found a beautiful love letter. I felt as I read it, as though it was addressed to just me. In verse 1, where it says ‘Jacob’ I placed my own name.

“But now (insert your name) listen to the Lord who created you. O Israel, the one who formed you says, “Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown. When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the Lord, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior. I gave Egypt as a ransom for your freedom; I gave Ethiopia and Seba in your place. Others were given in exchange for you. I traded their lives for yours because you are precious to me. You are honored, and I love you.”
‭‭Isaiah‬ ‭43:1-4‬ ‭NLT‬‬

As God’s children are not exempt from difficult times, or times of discouragement. The passage above says several times ‘when’ you go through these times – however our faithful, loving Father God has promised – and God never breaks his promises, never goes back on his Word – that we will not go through those times alone. He promises that he will always support, strengthen and restore. Why?
Because, he says, ‘you are precious to me. You are honoured, and I love you”. (Verse 4)

He’s the One who is willing to trade nations to be able to call you His own.

Jill McIlreavy 💜

2 comments

  1. Jill, beautiful post. Remember, Jesus promised His disciples that they would have trials and persecutions. It really is not a matter of “will I have difficulties” but more “when will difficulties come”, and we can be assured that He will be with us in the midst of them, no matter when they come or what form they take. You are loved, dear Jill, by our Lord, and many others as well. Blessings to you today, and always.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

